The free DIY edition does not include managed infrastructure or application maintenance.
The merchant must budget for hosting and the technical work needed to operate and update the store.
Evidence source ↗
Solidus is an open-source Ruby on Rails e-commerce platform with catalog, checkout, order, inventory, and subscription capabilities. Merchants can self-host it or use Solidus Cloud.
The platform documents broad commerce features, extensible APIs, and a free self-hosted edition. Implementation requires a Rails environment or a paid managed plan; public review evidence is limited to 14 G2 reviews.
This profile combines documented product information and independent evidence where available. It is not a hands-on test unless TechZella explicitly identifies one.
A quick way to understand who this product may suit, where its limits matter, and which facts are most relevant before you compare alternatives.
Retail and consumer brands needing custom storefronts, subscription commerce, or tailored order and fulfillment workflows, especially when they have Ruby on Rails expertise or want managed Solidus Cloud.
Teams seeking a turnkey store builder without application maintenance or development work may find the self-hosted edition demanding; managed Cloud pricing requires a sales inquiry, and should evaluate alternatives such as Spree Commerce or Shopify instead.
Cloud, GraphQL API, REST API, Self-hosted, Web
7.7/10
Solidus is an open-source e-commerce platform built for Ruby on Rails applications. Its commerce functions cover product catalogs, checkout, orders, inventory, fulfillment, taxation, promotions, and subscriptions.
Businesses can run the free DIY edition on their own infrastructure or request a Solidus Cloud plan. Cloud includes managed infrastructure and upgrades, while DIY leaves those responsibilities with the store operator.
These are the product-specific differences that may matter when deciding whether the software fits your workflow. They are based on documented evidence rather than a universal ranking.
These are documented constraints or practical friction points that may matter before you adopt the product.
The merchant must budget for hosting and the technical work needed to operate and update the store.
Evidence source ↗Buyers need a sales conversation to establish subscription costs and trial terms.
Evidence source ↗The required development and operations skills can affect implementation effort and ongoing ownership.
Evidence source ↗Free software for self-hosting. Infrastructure, application maintenance, and upgrades remain the customer's responsibility.
Check current pricing →Paid managed option with managed infrastructure and upgrades, standard application monitoring, weekday business-hours technical support, and 10 hours per month with a solutions architect.
Check current pricing →Paid managed option with expedited platform upgrades, tailored or customer-provided infrastructure, domain-specific monitoring, and 24/7 technical support.
Check current pricing →Pricing may change. Verify current plans on the vendor's website.
Compare similar products directly, then see which alternatives may make more sense when your requirements differ.
These products address broadly similar requirements. The descriptions focus on documented reasons a buyer might compare them with Solidus.
| License and pricing | Free DIY edition; paid Solidus Cloud plans |
|---|---|
| Deployment | Self-hosted or managed cloud |
| Application runtime | Ruby and Ruby on Rails |
| Database | Relational database; MySQL and PostgreSQL are tested |
| API | REST and GraphQL |
| Free trial | Cloud trial available by request; terms not published on reviewed page |
| Integrations | Payments, logistics, taxation, marketing, content management, customer service, and fraud detection |
Verified installation, hosting, administration, or environment details that can affect implementation.
| Installation or hosting | Use the free DIY Edition on your own infrastructure, or choose Solidus Cloud, which manages infrastructure and application upgrades. Source ↗ |
|---|---|
| Application requirements | The installation guide requires Ruby, Rails, and a relational database; MySQL and PostgreSQL are tested. Source ↗ |
Documented portability, standards, export, or switching considerations. No switching-cost score is shown unless the evidence supports one.
Solidus says stores can migrate from other e-commerce platforms, but does not specify a standard automated migration process on the reviewed page.
Evidence source ↗A proprietary editorial score based on product capabilities, usability, value, performance, support and user sentiment evidence.
The platform documents broad commerce features, extensible APIs, and a free self-hosted edition. Implementation requires a Rails environment or a paid managed plan; public review evidence is limited to 14 G2 reviews.
Methodology v1.0. The assessment weighs feature coverage (25%), ease of use (15%), value for money (20%), performance (15%), support (10%) and user sentiment (15%), using researched product evidence and verified review evidence where available. It is a TechZella editorial assessment, not a direct user-review average.
Key claims are linked to the sources used to verify them. This evidence record is separate from third-party user ratings.
TechZella evaluates software using documented product capabilities, pricing information, usability and value considerations, independent user evidence where available, and competitive context. The assessment is an editorial review, not a hands-on test unless one is explicitly identified. Our editorial assessment is based on 5 documented sources.
The official page distinguishes a free DIY edition from two paid Cloud plans.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The official get-started page identifies both API types; developer documentation describes REST API customization and a GraphQL API.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The official integration directory lists named providers in these categories.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The guide lists those runtime and database requirements and says MySQL and PostgreSQL are tested.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The feature pages describe subscriptions, catalog, inventory, fulfillment, taxation, promotions, checkout, and payments.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The GitHub releases page marked v4.8.0 as the latest release and showed it released October 9.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience.
Please log in to submit a review.
Is Solidus free? The DIY Edition is free to use. Hosting and operational costs are separate; Solidus Cloud is paid.
Does Solidus offer a free trial? The official site invites prospective users to request a Solidus Cloud trial. Trial length and terms are not specified on the reviewed page.
Which APIs are available? Solidus documents REST and GraphQL APIs. Its REST API can be customized, and GraphQL is available through the supported extension.
Which platforms and integrations does Solidus support? Solidus runs within Ruby on Rails applications and offers web storefront/admin access. Listed integrations include payment, logistics, tax, marketing, CMS, and customer-service services.