GrooveHQ

Groove Classic is a hosted customer-support help desk with a shared inbox, knowledge base, live chat, reporting, and integrations. The product remains available under its former Groove name.

7.8/10 TechZella Score
Visit Website ↗
6 key claims verifiedOur editorial team checked this profile against vendor documentation, pricing information, product documentation. Supported by 4 documented sources.
Editorial overview

Aggregated Overview

The product combines shared inbox, knowledge base, chat, reporting, and integrations. G2 lists 195 reviews and a 4.6 rating, but publicly accessible excerpts do not support a detailed analysis of recurring review themes. Pricing includes per-seat plans and separately priced channels.

This profile combines documented product information and independent evidence where available. It is not a hands-on test unless TechZella explicitly identifies one.

Overview

Groove Classic is a customer-support help desk built around a shared inbox. Its product page lists a knowledge base, live chat, reporting, and tools for assigning and collaborating on conversations.

The vendor now operates under the Helply name and says Groove Classic remains available as a separate product. Existing customers keep their accounts and do not need to migrate to Helply.

Decision guide

GrooveHQ Decision Snapshot

A quick way to understand who this product may suit, where its limits matter, and which facts are most relevant before you compare alternatives.

Best suited to

Small support teams seeking a shared inbox with a knowledge base, live chat, and team reporting in one hosted help desk.

Look elsewhere if

Teams requiring a public self-serve free plan, extensive included channels, or AI-first support automation should compare alternatives and verify the current plan details, and should evaluate alternatives such as Help Scout instead.

Platforms

Android, API, iOS, SaaS, Web

TechZella assessment

7.8/10

Decision context

GrooveHQ — What Sets It Apart?

These are the product-specific differences that may matter when deciding whether the software fits your workflow. They are based on documented evidence rather than a universal ranking.

  • The product keeps the shared-inbox help desk available as Groove Classic while the vendor develops Helply as a separate, AI-first product.
  • The same service combines shared inbox, help-center publishing, live chat, and reporting.
  • The pricing FAQ specifies plan-based included channel counts and separately priced additional channels.
Editorial assessment

GrooveHQ Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Combines shared inbox, knowledge base, live chat, and reporting.
  • Provides documented API access, webhooks, and integrations with common business tools.
  • Offers mobile apps for iOS and Android.
  • The vendor says existing Groove customers do not need to migrate to Helply.

Cons

  • The Standard plan includes only two channels and has a 25-teammate limit.
  • Additional channels and Lite Users have separate charges.
  • The public pricing page does not disclose the free-trial duration.
  • GrooveHQ.com redirects to Helply, which can make the Classic product less immediately apparent to new buyers.
Operational limits

GrooveHQ Gotchas & Operational Limits

These are documented constraints or practical friction points that may matter before you adopt the product.

The Standard plan includes two channels, with additional channels priced separately.

Teams routing multiple inboxes, chats, or social messaging channels should include those channel charges in their budget.

Evidence source ↗

The main groovehq.com site redirects to Helply, while Groove Classic remains a distinct product.

Prospective buyers should confirm they are signing up for Groove Classic rather than Helply, which targets a different support model.

Evidence source ↗

The pricing FAQ says cancellation requires contacting support.

Buyers should check the cancellation process and any applicable account terms before subscribing.

Evidence source ↗
Plans & pricing

GrooveHQ Pricing & Plans

Standard

$35 per user
month

Monthly billing. Annual option is $336 per user per year, equivalent to $28 per month. Includes two channels.

Check current pricing →

Plus

$55 per user
month

Monthly billing. Annual option is $528 per user per year, equivalent to $44 per month. Includes five channels.

Check current pricing →

Pro

$80 per user
month

Monthly billing. Annual option is $768 per user per year, equivalent to $64 per month. Includes 25 channels.

Check current pricing →

Pricing may change. Verify current plans on the vendor's website.

Cost context

Total Cost & Hidden Costs

Additional costs or implementation requirements that are documented in the available evidence.

Implementation and setup

The product page says teams can set up in under an hour. This is the vendor's stated setup estimate; no paid implementation service or onboarding fee is listed on the public pricing page.

Evidence source ↗

Hosting and infrastructure

Groove is sold as a hosted service with per-user subscriptions. The public plan page does not list separate hosting charges.

Evidence source ↗

Additional channels and Lite Users

The pricing FAQ lists additional channels at $10 each per month, or $120 per year, and Lite Users at $12 per month or $120 per year.

Evidence source ↗

AI Copilot add-on

The billing FAQ lists Copilot at $49 per month per account for existing Groove customers and $79 per month for new users. It also says the official Copilot free trial ended July 1, 2026.

Evidence source ↗
Compare options

GrooveHQ Competitors & Alternatives

Compare similar products directly, then see which alternatives may make more sense when your requirements differ.

At a glance

Customer Service Software
GrooveHQ compared with Help Scout, Helply
Decision factorGrooveHQHelp ScoutHelply
Core scopeShared inbox, knowledge base, live chat, and reporting are included in Groove Classic plans.Help Scout offers a shared inbox, Docs knowledge base, live chat, and reporting, with a permanent Free plan. Source ↗Helply is positioned as an AI-first support platform combining AI agents, help desk, and knowledge base. Source ↗
Pricing modelGroove Classic charges per user, with monthly Standard, Plus, and Pro plans at $35, $55, and $80 per user.Help Scout lists a Free plan and paid per-user Standard, Plus, and Pro subscriptions. Source ↗The vendor describes Helply's pricing as based on successful AI outcomes rather than Groove's standard per-seat model. Source ↗
Additional chargesGroove charges $10 per additional channel monthly and separately prices Lite Users.Help Scout charges for additional inboxes and Docs sites beyond plan allowances; its AI Answers feature has per-resolution pricing. Source ↗Not documented
Best-fit audienceThe Classic product page describes a simple shared-inbox help desk for small teams.Not documentedThe vendor says Helply is designed primarily for B2B technology companies. Source ↗

Only factors supported by the available research are shown. The comparison is descriptive, not a ranking.

Direct competitors

These products address broadly similar requirements. The descriptions focus on documented reasons a buyer might compare them with GrooveHQ.

Capabilities

GrooveHQ Features

Shared inbox

  • Conversation assignment
  • Collision detection
  • Internal notes and @mentions
  • Saved replies
  • Multiple inboxes

Customer self-service and messaging

  • Knowledge base
  • Live chat
  • Web widget
  • Help-center branding and custom domain

Workflow and reporting

  • Rules and automations
  • Snooze and send later
  • Conversation reporting
  • Knowledge-base analytics

Integrations and development

  • 40+ native integrations listed in plan comparison
  • API access
  • Webhooks
  • Zapier access

AI assistance

  • AI assist and conversation summaries on eligible plans
  • AI sentiment and tag suggestions on eligible plans
  • Groove Copilot add-on
Visual preview

Demo & Screenshots

Product details

GrooveHQ Specifications

Product statusGroove Classic remains active; Helply is a separate product.
DeploymentHosted SaaS
Supported mobile platformsiOS and Android
APIAPI access and webhooks; plan-based rate limits listed as 200, 400, and 800 calls per minute.
Standard teammate limit25; Plus and Pro list unlimited teammates.
Included channelsStandard: 2; Plus: 5; Pro: 25.
Free trialAvailable; public page does not specify duration.
Payment methodsCredit card, according to the billing FAQ.
Deployment

Deployment & System Footprint

Verified installation, hosting, administration, or environment details that can affect implementation.

Installation or hostingGroove Classic is accessed through a Groove account URL and offers a hosted web product; the public pricing page does not list a self-hosted edition. Source ↗
Exit planning

Migration & Lock-In

Documented portability, standards, export, or switching considerations. No switching-cost score is shown unless the evidence supports one.

Data portability

The pricing FAQ lists data export on all three plans. Groove's API guidance also describes importing ticket and customer data and exporting conversation history.

Evidence source ↗

Brand transition

The vendor says existing Groove accounts, data, pricing, workflows, and login URLs remain in place; it does not require migration to Helply.

Evidence source ↗
Our evidence-based assessment

TechZella Score

A proprietary editorial score based on product capabilities, usability, value, performance, support and user sentiment evidence.

7.8/10Moderate confidence
Features8.2
Ease of Use8.3
Value for Money7.2
Performance7.5
Support7.5
User Sentiment8.1

The product combines shared inbox, knowledge base, chat, reporting, and integrations. G2 lists 195 reviews and a 4.6 rating, but publicly accessible excerpts do not support a detailed analysis of recurring review themes. Pricing includes per-seat plans and separately priced channels.

Methodology v1.0. The assessment weighs feature coverage (25%), ease of use (15%), value for money (20%), performance (15%), support (10%) and user sentiment (15%), using researched product evidence and verified review evidence where available. It is a TechZella editorial assessment, not a direct user-review average.

Editorial transparency

Our Review Methodology

Key claims are linked to the sources used to verify them. This evidence record is separate from third-party user ratings.

TechZella evaluates software using documented product capabilities, pricing information, usability and value considerations, independent user evidence where available, and competitive context. The assessment is an editorial review, not a hands-on test unless one is explicitly identified. Our editorial assessment is based on 4 documented sources.

What TechZella adds
  • The product keeps the shared-inbox help desk available as Groove Classic while the vendor develops Helply as a separate, AI-first product.
  • The same service combines shared inbox, help-center publishing, live chat, and reporting.
  • The pricing FAQ specifies plan-based included channel counts and separately priced additional channels.
Important limitations
  • The Standard plan has a 25-teammate limit and includes two channels; higher limits require Plus or Pro.
  • Additional channels and Lite Users have separate charges.
  • The vendor's main GrooveHQ domain redirects to Helply, so new customers must use the Classic Groove product page.
Evidence-backed claims
Groove Classic is still available as a separate product from Helply.

The vendor says Groove Classic remains active, has ongoing support, and does not require migration to Helply.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Groove Classic offers Standard, Plus, and Pro plans.

The product page lists the three plans and monthly per-user prices, plus annual totals and monthly equivalents.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Groove supports API access and webhooks.

The billing FAQ lists API access and webhooks across plans, with API request limits varying by plan.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Groove Classic supports mobile applications for iOS and Android.

The plan comparison lists iOS and Android mobile apps as available across plans.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Groove Classic offers a free trial.

The official Classic product page has a Start free trial option. It does not specify the trial's duration on that page.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Groove provides integrations including Shopify, Stripe, Trello, Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, and Zapier.

The vendor's integration guide names these services and describes examples of their use.

View source ↗Verified 2026-10-29
Independent review sources

GrooveHQ Ratings & Reviews

Ratings are published by the respective review platforms and may change over time.

Common questions

GrooveHQ FAQs

Answers begin with the clearest available response, followed by the context that helps you act on it.

Is GrooveHQ still available?
Yes. The vendor says Groove Classic remains active and is not being sunset.
Does Groove offer a free trial?
Yes. The official Groove Classic page offers a free trial, but does not specify its duration.
Does Groove have an API?
Yes. Groove documents API access and webhooks; its pricing FAQ lists different request limits by plan.
Does Groove have mobile apps?
Yes. The plan comparison lists iOS and Android apps.
Does Groove require migration to Helply?
No. The vendor says Groove customers keep their existing accounts, data, and workflows.
Community feedback

Reviews

No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience.

Write a Review
Directory

Recently added Customer Service Software