The Shopify theme compatibility layer for Proxima is in beta.
Stores relying on deprecated or unsupported Shopify theme behavior should validate their theme before committing to a migration.
Evidence source ↗Swell is a hosted e-commerce platform with storefront tools and APIs for custom commerce experiences, including subscriptions and B2B selling.
Feature and pricing assessments draw on current vendor documentation. Swell provides configurable commerce data, APIs, storefront options, subscriptions, and B2B tools. Custom storefront work may require developer effort. Performance and user sentiment lack sufficiently reliable independent evidence
This profile combines documented product information and independent evidence where available. It is not a hands-on test unless TechZella explicitly identifies one.
A quick way to understand who this product may suit, where its limits matter, and which facts are most relevant before you compare alternatives.
Retailers and brands that need configurable commerce data, native subscriptions, wholesale pricing, or a custom storefront and have development resources.
Teams seeking a fully managed, minimal-configuration storefront may find the headless and custom development options more involved than necessary, and should evaluate alternatives such as Shopify or BigCommerce instead.
API, Cloud, REST API, SaaS, Web
7.2/10
Swell is a hosted e-commerce platform for merchants building online stores and custom commerce experiences. Its dashboard manages products, orders, customers, and content, while configurable data models and APIs support custom commerce logic.
Merchants can use a Swell storefront app or theme, or connect a separately hosted frontend. The platform documents subscription selling, wholesale and B2B features, localization, inventory, and multiple payment integrations.
These are the product-specific differences that may matter when deciding whether the software fits your workflow. They are based on documented evidence rather than a universal ranking.
These are documented constraints or practical friction points that may matter before you adopt the product.
Stores relying on deprecated or unsupported Shopify theme behavior should validate their theme before committing to a migration.
Evidence source ↗Migrated customers may need to reset passwords, and extra customer addresses are not included by that script.
Evidence source ↗A store's sales volume and platform usage can increase its bill beyond the listed subscription price.
Evidence source ↗Up to 2 admin users and a $50,000 annual sales ceiling. A percentage fee applies above the ceiling; usage overages may also apply.
Check current pricing →Up to 5 admin users and a $250,000 annual sales ceiling. A percentage fee applies above the ceiling; usage overages may also apply.
Check current pricing →Up to 15 admin users and a $1 million annual sales ceiling. Includes advanced reports; a percentage fee applies above the ceiling.
Check current pricing →Unlimited admin users and a $5 million annual sales ceiling. Includes advanced reports, role-based permissions, and developer support; a percentage fee applies above the ceiling.
Check current pricing →Custom pricing and priority technical support; positioned for merchants doing over $10 million in annual sales.
Check current pricing →Pricing may change. Verify current plans on the vendor's website.
Compare similar products directly, then see which alternatives may make more sense when your requirements differ.
These products address broadly similar requirements. The descriptions focus on documented reasons a buyer might compare them with Swell.
| Platform | Web dashboard; APIs; cloud-hosted commerce service |
|---|---|
| API | Frontend API and Backend API; REST access; Node.js SDK documented |
| Free trial | Available; duration not stated on pricing page |
| Admin users | Starter 2; Basic 5; Standard 15; Unlimited plan has no stated user cap |
| Sales ceilings | Starter $50,000; Basic $250,000; Standard $1 million; Unlimited $5 million in annual sales |
| Overage | Percentage fees above annual sales ceiling; additional API requests, function calls, and storage billed at listed rates |
| Hosting options | Managed infrastructure; storefront apps on Cloudflare Workers; self-hosted headless frontend option |
| Test environment | Separate test environment can be enabled alongside live environment |
| Integrations | Payment gateways, tax services, marketing tools, storefront and CMS partners |
Verified installation, hosting, administration, or environment details that can affect implementation.
| Hosting | Swell operates managed commerce infrastructure. Storefront apps run on Cloudflare Workers; merchants can alternatively host a headless storefront themselves. Source ↗ |
|---|---|
| Development environments | A store has a live environment and can enable a separate test environment. Source ↗ |
Documented portability, standards, export, or switching considerations. No switching-cost score is shown unless the evidence supports one.
Swell documents API- or CSV-based migration and a Shopify script for products, customers, and orders. Its script does not migrate customer passwords or additional customer addresses, and product images need a separate import process.
Evidence source ↗The general guide recommends moving products, customers, orders, shipments, and subscriptions in sequence, with migration possible in increments.
Evidence source ↗A proprietary editorial score based on product capabilities, usability, value, performance, support and user sentiment evidence.
Feature and pricing assessments draw on current vendor documentation. Swell provides configurable commerce data, APIs, storefront options, subscriptions, and B2B tools. Custom storefront work may require developer effort. Performance and user sentiment lack sufficiently reliable independent evidence for strong conclusions.
Methodology v1.0. The assessment weighs feature coverage (25%), ease of use (15%), value for money (20%), performance (15%), support (10%) and user sentiment (15%), using researched product evidence and verified review evidence where available. It is a TechZella editorial assessment, not a direct user-review average.
Key claims are linked to the sources used to verify them. This evidence record is separate from third-party user ratings.
TechZella evaluates software using documented product capabilities, pricing information, usability and value considerations, independent user evidence where available, and competitive context. The assessment is an editorial review, not a hands-on test unless one is explicitly identified. Our editorial assessment is based on 5 documented sources.
The current pricing page lists four paid plans with annual billing and a Custom plan with negotiated pricing.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The pricing page describes browser-facing public-key access and server-side secret-key access; developer documentation also describes direct REST access.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The platform overview documents a store database with standard commerce models and custom models and fields managed through the dashboard or Backend API.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The storefront documentation describes storefront apps, themes, and self-hosted headless storefronts.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The pricing page lists built-in subscriptions and wholesale and B2B features, including retail and wholesale selling from one store.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10The Swell developer documentation identifies Shopify theme compatibility as beta and notes that some deprecated features may have limited support.
View source ↗Verified 2026-10-10No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience.
Please log in to submit a review.
Yes. The official pricing page offers a free trial, but does not state its duration.
Yes. It documents a Backend API for server-side use and a Frontend API for browser-facing storefront functions. Direct REST access is supported.
Yes. Swell documents linking an existing site or using an externally hosted headless storefront.
Yes. Its pricing page lists built-in subscriptions and wholesale and B2B features.
Swell’s Shopify migration guide notes that its script does not migrate customer passwords or extra customer addresses. Product images require a separate import process.